Wooden Candy Corn Decor

Whenever I get on Pinterest, I always find something that I would love to make and these adorable 2×4 Candy Corns were no different.  They are so simple and easy to make, that I couldn’t pass up adding  this cute decoration to my fall decor.  The inspiration and general directions came from the blog Clover House.  Below you’ll find how I made my own version of this decoration.  I hope that you’ll be inspired to make and add these whimsy Wooden Candy Corns to your fall decor as well.

Wooden Candy Corn Decor

Candy Corn Inspiration
The Inspiration

Candy Corn Supplies

Supplies:

  • 3 -2×4’s with heights measuring at 4 1/2″, 5″, 6″
  • Raffia Ribbon
  • Yellow, Orange, & White Paint
  • Painters Tape
  • Paint Brush
  • Glue Gun

Candy Corn Sanding

All Sanded

I started by measuring and cutting my three pieces of 2×4’s down to size.  After this my hubby helped me to cut the angles at 15 degrees.  Once we had the angles cut, to get a more of a flat, rounded look, I took and cut the point off about 1/2″ to 1″ down.  After all the pieces were cut, I took my sander and sanded down each piece to remove any rough areas and round the edges.

Yellow Stripe       Orange Stripe

Once the sanding was done, I paint my candy corns.  I started by taking some painters tape and taped off where I wanted my yellow stripe to be.  After I had the tape in place, I took and painted on the yellow stripe and let it dry.  Then I painted on the orange and white stripes in the same fashion as the yellow. (I use a old cafeteria tray to paint on but any tray would work as well.  I started using plastic trays as my painters palette in my college painting class when my professor suggested it to us.  I would highly recommend it because you can put more paint on them, easier to mix colors on, and you can also use them to paint some of your projects on.)

All Finished Painting

Once all the paint was dry, I wanted more of a rustic look to them, so I took my sander and sand all three candy corns to my desired look.  Make sure though when doing this that you don’t press too hard with your sander or you’ll end up needing to re-paint and try again.

All Finished

To finish off the candy corns I took some natural colored raffia and tied bows around each of the candy corns to dress them up.  To keep the raffia in place, I added some drabs of hot glue in the back and under the knot of the bow.

I love how easy these candy corns were to make. Plus they don’t take up a lot of space in your house but still added that whimsy touch of fall I was wanting.

Leave a Reply

