Top 10 Favorite Halloween Movies: Horror Edition

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!  I hope that you are having an amazing Halloween filled with good laughs, scary  movies, and lots and lots of candy.  Halloween is one of my favorite holidays.  I just love everything that goes with it, watching scary movies, eating bags of candy, carving pumpkins, and trick-or-treating.  One of my favorite traditions, past carving pumpkins, is watching a scary movie on Halloween night.  I just love sitting in front of the TV, with my bowl of popcorn and a blanket (You never know when you might need it to high for a brief moment.), and waiting for villain to appear. If you are looking to watch a good scary movie this Halloween, I suggest picking one of the movies off my list to watch.

My Top 10 Favorite Halloween Movies: Horror Edition

Halloween (1978)

10. Halloween (1978)

On Halloween night of 1963, 6-year old Michael Myers stabbed his sister to death. After sitting in a mental hospital for 15 years, Myers escapes and returns to Haddonfield to kill.  This is one of those classic scary movies that everyone needs to see at least once in their lives.

30 Days of Night

9. 30 Days of Night (2007)

Vampires are some of my favorite monsters, even the sparkly kind, and this movie is full of them. In a small Alaskan town, thirty days of night is a natural phenomenon. Very few outsiders visit, until a band of bloodthirsty, deathly pale vampires mark their arrival by savagely attacking sled dogs. But soon they find there are much more satisfying thirst-quenchers about: human beings. One by one, the townspeople succumb to a living nightmare, but a small group survives — at least for now. The vampires use the dark to their advantage, and surviving this cold hell is a game of cat and mouse…and screams.

Dead Silence (2007)

8. Dead Silence (2007) 

A widower returns to his hometown to search for answers to his wife’s murder, which may be linked to the ghost of a murdered ventriloquist.  I think one of the reasons that I enjoy this movie is that it brings me back to my childhood and reading the Gooosebumps books and the reoccurring character Slappy.

It

7. It (1990)

In 1960, seven outcast kids known as “The Loser Club” fight an evil demon who poses as a child-killing clown. 30 years later, they are called back to fight the same clown again.  I love all the Stephen King movies but this is one of my favorites.  I first watched this movie with my parents, when I was younger.  Since this movie is a mini-series, half way through you have to put in the next disc to continue watching.  Well we put in the next disc and went up stairs to get some popcorn. When I came back down, it was just me, and I saw the clown, Pennywise, on the screen.  It was super creepy.  Come to find out the disc had one of those auto start features and had started on it’s own but it definitely scared me enough to where I ran back up stairs and didn’t go back down until my parents did.

The Cabin in the Woods (2011)

6. The Cabin in the Woods (2011)

This movie was written by on of my all time favorite movie/ tv show writers, Joss Whedon.  It’s about five friends go for a break at a remote cabin in the woods, where they get more than they bargained for. Together, they must discover the truth behind the cabin in the woods.  One of my favorite parts about this movie is how they added in all the different classic scary movie charters into one movie.

The Skeleton Key (2005)

5. The Skeleton Key (2005)

Caroline Ellis, a good-natured nurse living in New Orleans, quits her job at a hospice to work for Violet Devereaux, an elderly woman whose husband, Ben, is in poor health following a stroke. When Caroline begins to explore the couple’s rundown Bayou mansion, she discovers strange artifacts and learns the house has a mysterious past. As she continues to investigate, she realizes that Violet is keeping a sinister secret about the cause of Ben’s illness.  I love Kate Hudson and a good amount of her movies and this one is now different.  I love how this movie can keep you on your toes with what is going to happen next.

House of Wax (2005)

4. House of Wax (2005)

A gang of college friends, including Wade and his girlfriend, Carly, are en route to a school football game when they wind up with a flat tire in a ghost town. They are forced to seek help in the only place that’s open: the local wax museum. Once inside the spooky and seemingly abandoned building, they find the works on display are not quite what they seem — and the group soon discovers it’s being hunted by the insane twin brothers who run the museum.  Why not the original over the remake you might ask?  Well I’ve seen both and I just enjoy the remake so much more than I did the original. 

Insidious (2010)

3. Insidious (2010)

Parents take drastic measures when it seems their new home is haunted and their comatose son is possessed by a malevolent entity.  This is one of the first truly scary movies that I had seen when it came out.  This movie is not one of those that I would recommend watching alone in your basement.  Try and get a friend who will watch it with you, so you aren’t the only one jump all the time.

Sinister (2012)

2. Sinister (2012)

True-crime writer Ellison Oswald is in a slump; he hasn’t had a best seller in more than 10 years and is becoming increasingly desperate for a hit. So, when he discovers the existence of a snuff film showing the deaths of a family, he vows to solve the mystery. He moves his own family into the victims’ home and gets to work. However, when old film footage and other clues hint at the presence of a supernatural force, Ellison learns that living in the house may be fatal.  This another truly scary movie that came out a couple years after Insidious that really gave me chills.  Again I’d recommend watching this movie with a friends so that once its done, you are able to move around your house and aren’t forever glued to your chair.

Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

1. Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

Nightmare on Elm Street, the original, is one of my all time favorite scary movies.  Now I know it isn’t a scary you to were you are afraid to movie type movie, but I just love its story-line.  In Wes Craven’s classic slasher film, several Midwestern teenagers fall prey to Freddy Krueger, a disfigured midnight mangler who preys on the teenagers in their dreams — which, in turn, kills them in reality. After investigating the phenomenon, Nancy begins to suspect that a dark secret kept by her and her friends’ parents may be the key to unraveling the mystery, but can Nancy and her boyfriend Glen solve the puzzle before it’s too late?  

Leave a Reply

