C2 Chicken Adventures: Update

Chicks Update 7

Our chickens just keep getting bigger and bigger. Make since with how much they are eating now.  It won’t be long now and they’ll be ready to move from their brooder box (see how we built ours here) into their coop.  Its sad and exciting at the same time to watch our chickens grow.  I miss their fluff, which is hardly there now, that’s now being replaced by their big girl feathers.  At the same time, it’s exciting because the bigger they get the closer we are to getting our first eggs from them. 

On Sunday (Happy Easter), while my hubby was cleaning their box, we took them out to the back yard and just let them roam a little to start getting them use to the outdoors.  They did pretty well, though they mostly stayed to the one spot we put them on.  I don’t think they were quite sure about being in the grass quite yet.

Chicks Update 1
Meet my chicken friend, Bilina!

The best part of the day was when the smallest of the chicks, walked up to me all on her own. When I picked her up, she walked up my arm and sat on my shoulder for a while.  It was so neat to see that we were bonding and that she wanted to be my friend. I’ve officially named here Bilina, after Dorthy’s chicken in Return to Oz. (If you haven’t seen this movie, I recommend you do so.  So many childhood memories.)

I’ve come up with names for all of our chickens but I haven’t really named any of them full yet besides Bilina.  It’s kinda hard when they are all the same breed and you can’t really tell them apart.  Bilina is a little bit smaller than the others and less afraid of me picking her up, so that’s the only reason I can keep her straight from the others.

Chicks Update 4
Bilina

Here are the names I’ve given our chicks:

  • Bilina
  • Ruby
  • Gypsy
  • Maggie
  • Lucy
  • Scarlet

Do you have chickens?  If so what are their names and how to do tell them apart from each other?

I hope you are enjoying following along in our chickens adventures and if you are new to this series, make sure to check out my other post on our six chicks.

 

5 thoughts on “C2 Chicken Adventures: Update

  1. Aww, what a gorgeous post, thank you. I love how they have grown 🙂 but I also know what you mean, about them growing up…I think it is like ones own child, as a mom you want it to stay being a baby, but on the other hand you want it to grow, and then as a mother you just accept the growth and enjoy the next chapter of its life. (I do not know if any of that made sense to you….sorry)
    I love the names you have chosen for them. I see in the one pic you have a beautiful dog, and looks so comfortable around the chickens…that is great. Looking forward to more of your posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

