Must See Broadway Shows Before You Die

Within my short 26 (almost 27) years I have seen many Broadway shows.  I am lucky to live in a town that is close to two theatre’s that bring in multiple Broadways shows every year and a family that enjoys going to see them.  I’ve also had the pleasure to visit New York City twice and see 11 shows while I was there.  Below are some of my favorite Broadway shows that I’ve seen so far and would highly recommend going to see if you have the chance.  I promise you won’t be sorry you did!

Wicked
Morgan and I before Wicked at the Gershwin. (yes we wore green)

1.Wicked

Wicked is a show filled with great music, amazing special effects, and a story that will capture your heart.  Wicked follows the story of two girls from the land of Oz, Elphaba and Glinda, and how their lives intertwine.  Not only do you get to see how Glinda the Good and the Wicked Witch of the West become who they are today but you also get to see how a friendship can shape you who are and the life you live.

This is one of my all time favorite musicals.  I can never decided between Wicked and Pippin for my overall favorite musical.  I’ve had the pleasure of getting to see this musical three times.  I just can’t get enough.  The first time I saw it was when I was in high school, in Denver, CO.  My family made a special trip out to see it and boy was it worth it.  The next time I got to see it was in college at the Omaha Orpheum and this time we had seats center stage, about six rows back from the stage.  It was so magical.  The most recent time I’ve seen Wicked, was on my second trip to New York.  It was so much fun to get to see it, in its home theatre and how they were able to do things since it was in its permanent home.  Some day I hope to see it again and take my hubby to it since he hasn’t had a chance to see it yet and added it to his favorite musicals.

2. Pippin 

The version of Pippin I’ve seen is the new revival that one a Tony a couple years ago.  In this story you follow Pippin as he tries to figure out what his purpose in life is.  Through out the show you follow Pippin and see the many different things he tries to find what his purpose is in life.  It’s an amazing show with a powerful message.  One of the things that makes this show so amazing is that with the revival, the show takes place now in a circus tent and they’ve added in the Cirque du Soleil element, which just makes this, already magical show, even more magical.

I have had the pleasure of seeing Pippin twice.  The first time I saw it was when I was in New York for the second time.  Everyone that I went to the show with was just in awe of the story, the message behind it, and just how they put the show together.  Another cool part about it was that we were able to see it in its first run, with the original revival cast.  When Pippin came to the Omaha Orpheum this last year, I knew I had to take my hubby to see it.  I think at this point I can safely say that this is now his favorite Broadway show that he’s seen so far.

3. Peter and the Star Catcher

If you love the story of Peter Pan as much as I do, you’ll love the story of Peter and the Starcatcher.  Peter and the Starcatcher is about how Peter becomes who he is when you meet him in Peter Pan.  At the start of the show you meet Boy (Peter), an orphan, and Molly, daughter of a famous Starcatcher.  Molly’s father puts her in charge of the very important task of guarding the star stuff.  As the story unfolds you see how Molly and Boy’s friendship grows and what they have to go through to protect the star stuff.

Now I know this isn’t really a musical, past one song, but it is one of the most amazing play’s I’ve ever seen.  It is so magical and you’ll fall in love with the charters not long after the show starts.  Not only is the play pure magic but how they use minimal props and actors as set pieces, will make you continue to fall in love with this show over and over again.

Avenue Q

4. Avenue Q

When I describe what Avenue Q is about to people I say it’s Rent and Sesame Street combined into one.  Now I wouldn’t recommend taking your kids to this show till they are in high school or older but it is a great musical.  In the show you follow the story of new college graduate, Princeton, and his adventures in New York City.  Here he meets the other residents of Avenue Q and gets to know them while finding his purpose in the world.

I’ve now seen this show twice, once with my brother at the Omaha Orpheum and for the second time when I was in New York.  Even though this show has some adult humor, it is easy to look past it for the great story and the amazing puppetry.  Yes you heard me right, puppetry.  The whole show is done with puppets.  It’s amazing that even though you can see the puppeteers with the puppets on their hands you don’t even really notice them while you are watching the show because the show draws you into its world so well.  This is a favorite of my family and one that we quote and have talked about years after seeing it.

The_Lion_King_Musical.svg

5. The Lion King

If you’ve seen Disney’s The Lion King then you know the story of this Broadway musical.  The short version of this story is Simba’s dad is killed and he is chanced out of the pride lands.  When Simba is about to give up Timon and Pumbaa find him, save him and help raise him.  Once day when Simba is older, he runs into an old friend Nala and she gets him to come home, face Scar, and take back control of the pride lands.

Past loving the story of The Lion King since I was a child, I also love how they put this show together.  The combination of puppets and actors is amazing.  One of my favorite scenes is when the water dries up in the pride land and how they show that by pulling a large blue sheet slowly through a hole in the middle of the stage.  Its just amazing!  I can’t wait for when I can take my hubby to see this amazing show so he can share in its magic!

6. Phantom of the Opera

Just this past Saturday I had the pleasure of taking my hubby to see The Phantom of the Opera at the Omaha Orpheum.  This show follows a deformed composer, known as the Phantom, who haunts the grand Paris Opera House.  The Phantom tutors and composes operas for Christine, a dancer then singer at the Opera House.  Throughout the show you get to see the struggle Christine goes through, will I be true to myself and do what I want or will I got with the Phantom and stay in that comfort zone forever.

The Phantom of the Opera is the longest-running show on Broadway and when you see the show you’ll know why.  The music is amazing and the set is as well from the chandler to the rotating center that creates all of the different scenes in the show.  I’ve now seen this show twice, once in New York City (my first Broadway show I’ve seen on Broadway) and for the second time in Omaha Orpheum.  It was interesting to see how the show changed some due to it not being in its home theatre and not being able to do somethings they can there but it was still magical.  One of my favorite parts about seeing it for the second time was that we had great seats, about eight rows back and that we were directly under the chandelier, so when it dropped, it felt like it was about to come down on us.  It was so cool!

I highly recommend, if you ever have a change to go to see a Broadway show or two or twenty, specially one of the ones I’ve listed above, that you do it!  They are well worth it and you won’t be sorry you did.  It is something magical that you’ll never forget.

What is your favorite Broadway show that you’ve seen?  I’d love to know!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Must See Broadway Shows Before You Die

  1. I loved reading through this! I love love love Wicked also! Such a great show. I love Les Mis, one of my all time favorites! Such great music and the story line is such an example of forgiveness and good versus evil. I also loved Rock of Ages…that was pure fun!! Reading your post makes me want to go again!!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you enjoyed it! Wicked is one of those Broadway shows that I want them to release someday on DVD so I can watch it over and over again! I haven’t gotten to see Les Mis yet but hopefully someday. I also love Rock of Ages, I saw it a couple years ago and I always listen to the sound track and sing along! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your list. Always hard to say which are my favorite Broadway shows that I have seen, but here are perhaps my top 5. 1. “Little Shop of Horrors” (yes I did see the original touring cast.) 2. “Wicked” 3. “Cabaret” 4. Kinky Boots 5. My Fat Friend (I have to include the first show I saw on Broadway) Of course there is no end to the great shows I have been fortunate to see, but these all have special meanings to me, which is why they make the list. I can’t for get my two honorable mentions. “Peter and the Star Catcher” and “Avenue Q”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s always hard to pick your favorite! That’s why I’m always going back and forth. I’m jealous that you’ve seen “Little Shop of Horrors” on Broadway, let alone the original cast. I would love to see it done on Broadway! (though I did love your production of it! 🙂 )

      Like

Leave a Reply

