Natural Carpet Deodorizer

Ever since practice for The Boys Next Door started and my hubby started studying for the CPA, cleaning our house sorta got put on the back burner.  I mean we tried to keep up with it the best we could but there’s only so much you can do when you’re gone/studying every night and busy on the weekends as well.

So now that the play is done, I’m working on giving our house a good clean, room by room.  Its been going slowly but last night I finally finished cleaning our master bedroom (minus one crate of random things that don’t belong in our bedroom).  To help give our bedroom that super clean feeling/smell, I made up some natural carpet deodorizer.

Once everything else was put up and I was ready to vacuum our carpet, I sprinkled my carpet deodorizer all over our carpet, let it sit for 5 to 6 minutes, and then vacuumed it up.  Wow!, did it make our room smell amazing!  I can’t wait to get the rest of our house cleaned and organized.  Hopefully I can get it all done before we leave for Colorado next week.  Fingers crossed!

Here’s my easy recipe for my natural carpet deodorizer.

Carpet Deodorizer Supplies

Supplies:

  • Baking Soda
  • Essential Oils (I used lemon, peppermint, and lavender)
  • Shaker Bottle (I used a old Parmesan cheese bottle that we had just finished off)
  • Washi Tape or some kind of label

Carpet Deodorizer

Directions:

  • First I took and cleaned out my Parmesan bottle and took the label off.
  • Then I filled my bottle up with baking soda.
  • Once my bottle was full of baking soda, I add in around 30 or so drops of my essential oils.  I chose to use lemon, lavender, and peppermint.  I chose these three since they are good for helping with your allergies and with my hubby and I both suffering from them right now, I figured why not kill two birds with on stone. But you can use whatever essential oils you’d like.
  • After I had all of my essentials oils added, I put the lid back on my bottle and shook everything together.
  • Then I labeled my bottle so I my hubby and I would know what was in the bottle. Since I couldn’t find my chalkboard labels, I used some washi tape.
  • Once I was all done, I shook my carpet deodorizer all over my carpet, let it sit for 5 or so minutes, and then vacuumed it all up.

And there you have it, a simple to make, all natural carpet deodorizer that will cost you little to no money at all to make.

Leave a Reply

