Mason Jar Planter

Ever since our local Orscheln’s put out their green house with all their pots and plants, every-time we would go there I would see this bright blue mason jar looking planter and I would tell my hubby “I really want this.”  So a couple weeks ago he surprised me with the planter.  I just love how it gives a pop of color to our otherwise boring front porch.

Mason Jar Planter -Supplies

Supplies:

  • Planter
  • Plants
  • Potting Soil

Directions:

1. To create my planter I first took and filled up my mason jar planter with potting soil.

Mason Jar Planter -Plants

2. Then I took my plants and put them in the planter where I wanted them and put more soil in around them.

When choosing what plants you are wanting to put in your planter, you are going to want to make sure you get three different types; a thriller, a filler, and a spiller. (rhymes doesn’t it)  A thriller is going to be your tallest plant, for mine I got a Red Star Cordyline.  For my filler I got a pink Geranium and for my spiller, which is a vining plant that will go down the side of your planter, I got a Sweet Potato Vine.

After I got my planter all put together, I placed it where I wanted it on our porch and water the plants.  I’m so happy with how my planter turned out and I can’t wait to see how it chances through out the next couple of months.

Do you have a planter this year and if so what did you plant in yours?

2 thoughts on “Mason Jar Planter

Leave a Reply

