Our House Building Vacation

You may have noticed that I’ve been a little MIA from my blog this past two weeks.  Well that would be mostly due to the fact that last Tuesday my hubby and I got back from having been in Colorado visiting my in-laws for a week or so.  While there we were able to see my brother-in-law, sister-in-law, and our cute baby nephew, other parts of hubby’s extended family, celebrate my hubby turning 27th, and help build my in-laws new house.

House 1
What my in-laws house looked like before we started helping built it.

We drove down to Colorado on a Friday afternoon and then the next day we got up bright and early to go the farm to get started on working on the house.  Even though it was a long day, we got a good start on getting things done on their house.

The next day, was my hubby’s 27th birthday!  We went to church, had lunch, and then my hubby and my father-in-law went out to farm to work more on the house.  While they were at the farm, I got to go with my mother-in-law to my great-uncle’s 100th birthday party.  It was so neat to get to be there to celebrate with him and family.

Funny story is that my great-uncle is actually a good family friend with all of my hubby’s family.  We didn’t know this until my mom’s where talking one day and figure it out.  It truly is a small world! 😉 

Once everyone got home that evening, we had dinner, opened presents, ate pie (The most amazing frozen berry pie ever, I might add), and celebrated my hubby!

 

Then the next day it was back to farm to get working on some more of the house.  This is pretty much what our days looked liked until Thursday when my brother-in-law, sister-in-law, and baby nephew got there. (happy dance)  Before they got there though, we laid concrete in the mud room, entry way, and in front of the garage.  We also built some walls for the basement & mud room, got the floor joist put in place, and other little random things that needed to be done.

Once they got there, we made sure to spend what time we could with all three of them and get in as many baby nephew snuggles as we could. (Isn’t he just adorable!?!)

By the end of our time in Colorado, we had taken the house from basically just the foundation to having flooring, walls, and even truss put up.  I sure did learn a lot about building a house and I know even the proud owner of my own framing hammer!

Even though it was a long, exhausting vacation, we had a good time visiting family and getting to help build my in-laws house.  I can’t wait to see what it looks like the next time we go back to Colorado.

One thought on “Our House Building Vacation

Leave a Reply

